You are currently viewing XLRI Jamshedpur conducts the 67th Convocation Ceremony & presents Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal to Mr. Harsh Mariwala, Chairman of Marico

XLRI Jamshedpur conducts the 67th Convocation Ceremony & presents Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal to Mr. Harsh Mariwala, Chairman of Marico

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized

Xavier School of Management, one of India’s oldest and premier B-Schools, celebrated its 67th Annual Convocation on 4th April, 2023 in the Tata Auditorium, XLRI Jamshedpur. The institute will also be celebrating its Platinum Jubilee of XLRI between October 11, 2023 – October 10, 2024.


XLRI conferred the prestigious ‘Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Industrial and Social Peace’ to Mr. Harsh Mariwala, Chairman of Marico. In deep appreciation of his enduring dedication to the high standards of business leadership & of his tenacious efforts to make our society a better place, XLRI is honored to present the Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal to Mr. Mariwala.


The 67th Annual Convocation of XLRI Jamshedpur witnessed 484 students graduating – 14 students from Fellow Program in Management, 176 students from Human Resource Management, 180 students from Business Management, 114 students from General Management (15 months program). 14 students received the Medals for Academic Excellence by Prof. Sanjay K Patro, Dean – Academics, XLRI Jamshedpur. 18 employees of XLRI Jamshedpur received Long Service Medals for their 15 years of dedication & commitment towards the Institute by Fr. Donald D’Silva, SJ, Dean – Administration & Finance, XLRI Jamshedpur.


Fr. S George S.J., Director, XLRI, congratulated the graduating students and shared that XLRI will be celebrating their Platinum Jubilee this year. He also thanked the Chairman for his constant support. “We welcome our Chief Guest, Mr. Harsh Mariwala to the 67th Convocation of XLRI for the graduating batch of 2023. We thank you for accepting the Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Industrial and Social Peace. Congratulations to our 484 students & heartfelt appreciation to our faculty and staff members for making XLRI a place of learning and integrity.”


On the special occasion, the Director also paid tribute to the departed souls, Dr. J J Irani, Chairman of XLRI from 1993 – 2003 & Mr. Bushen Raina, Former President and Board Member – we lost them in 2022. He also announced the Academic Medal Winners names, student achievements for the academic year & the XLRI long service medal winners for 15 years.


Mr. TV Narendran, CEO & MD, Tata Steel & Chairman, XLRI addressed the crowd by congratulating the students and shared 4 key pointers with them; “Change is the only constant and you learn while experiencing things. In this highly interconnected world, be aware geopolitically. Be aware of what’s happening around. Climate change or transition is going to play a huge role in the next 30 years. Know about the growing inequality in this world and make sure you always stand for the greater good and stick to the values that XLRI has instilled in you.” He also presented the Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal to Mr. Harsh Mariwala.


Accepting the medal from the Chairman on the 67th Convocation, Mr. Mariwala congratulated all the graduating students and shared that his HR Head is an XLRI Alumni and expressed his heartfelt gratitude to XLRI for having him on stage. He further said, “ HRs play an important role in businesses. Create a culture of innovation and it will help you achieve success when you have less resources and high aspirations. Be a strong believer of strength based approach and identify your skills and use them efficiently and effectively. Fear is the biggest failure and you should not be afraid of failures. Failures lead to introspection, learning, improvements. You will have a mix pack of success and failures.”

He also asked the students to thank their parents for making them who they are today.


Prof. Sanjay K Patro along with the Chairman & Chief Guest handed over the medals of academic excellence to the winners. This was followed by the distribution of the diploma degrees to the graduating students.

Medals for Academic Excellence: 2022 – 23

1 XLRI Medal: Best All-round Student

in Memory of Parineet Reddy

[Sponsored by Reddys]

Delfi Tayal [BJ21019]
2 XLRI Medal: Best All-round Woman Student

in memory of Geeta Saxena

[Sponsored by Madhukar Shukla]

Tanya Gupta [H21119]
3 XLRI Medal: Outstanding FPM Student

In Memory of K V K Raju

[Sponsored by Nagarjuna Foundation]

Varun Sharma [FB17007]
4 XLRI Medal: Highest CQPI – HRM

in Memory of John P D’Costa

[Sponsored by Ronald D’Costa]

Tanya Gupta [H21119]

XLRI Medal: Second Highest CQPI – HRM


Mudit Goel [H21029]
6 XLRI Medal: Highest CQPI – BM

in Memory of Ram Awtar Chachra

[Sponsored by Krishna Lal Chachra]

Kunal Gupta [BJ21147]
7 XLRI Medal: Second Highest CQPI – BM

[Sponsored by Janardhan Pyda]

Aditya Kshetrapal [BJ21126]
8 XLRI Medal: Highest CQPI – GMP

in Memory of R S Pande

[Sponsored by K G Pande]

Vineet Maheshwari [G21111]
9 XLRI Medal for Social Initiatives

[Sponsored by State Bank of India]


Sarbani Dutta [BJ21048]


Subhasish Dash [BJ21055]


Shivangi Kejrewal [BJ21184]


Suhas P [BJ21185]


Mandapati Naga Sai Asha Reddy [H21011]


Botlaguduru Satvik [H21135]