Students awarded Scholarships on Founder’s Day of CMR Group of Institutions

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized

Bengaluru : CMR University, one of Bengaluru’s leading private universities with an interdisciplinary curriculum, celebrated its Founder’s Day today by awarding 169 scholarships and 20 leadership awards to students of Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses. CMR Group of Institutions has taken this initiative with an aim to encourage and motivate students and pledge for the betterment of the society. The beneficiary students were from CMR-NPS, Ekya Schools, CMR University, and CMRIT.


Dr. Tristha Ramamurthy, Provost, CMR University said, “I stand here today remembering the man I have never met. We celebrate this day in memory of my grandfather Late Shri Chikka Muniyappa Reddy whom we fondly call CMR. He was a great visionary who promoted education despite being not highly educated. His generosity in funding scholarships for students is a tradition we carry on proudly every year.”


On this occasion, Shri. D V Sadananda Gowda, Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha inaugurated CMR University’s Hostel Block, Dr. K Sudhakar, Hon’ble Minister of Health and Family Welfare & Medical Education, Govt of Karnataka laid the foundation for Bangalore’s 1st in-campus Animal Shelter at CMR University campus, Shri. S R Vishwanath, Member of Legislative Assembly distributed CMR Memorial Merit Scholarships, Shri. K Govindaraj, Member of the Legislative Council distributed Sports Scholarships & Leadership Awards,


Dr. K C Raju Reddy, Trustee, CMR Jnanadhara Trust, Shri K C Ramamurthy, IPS (Retd.), Chairman, CMR University & CMR Group of Institutions and Dr. Sabitha Ramamurthy, Chancellor, CMR University presided over the events.


Speaking on the occasion, Shri S R Vishwanath, Chairman of Bangalore Development Authority said, “I am in awe of the Chairman of CMR University, Shri K C Ramamurthy who has inculcated the spirit of honoring due recognition to deserving and outstanding students. CMR University is setting the tone for the right kind of educational spirit as we did earlier in Indian universities such as Nalanda and Taxila.”


CMR University organized various activities and facilitations were given including CMR Memorial Merit Scholarships, Sports Scholarships, Leadership Awards, and the Seva Puraskar award, which is given to recognize the exceptional contribution made towards the society. The total scholarship amount for the academic year 2022-23 is ₹5.7 Crore.


Learning is a continuous process and these scholarships and awards motivate students to become better versions of themselves. CMR University, a private university has taken it upon itself to make it possible by walking on the footsteps of its founder. In line with the vision of the late Shri Chikka Muniyappa Reddy, CMR University aims at making literacy and quality education more accessible to the masses.