You are currently viewing Ohio State University scientists named AAAS Fellows

Ohio State University scientists named AAAS Fellows

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized

Four scientists at The Ohio State University have been elected to the 2022 class of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows.

The AAAS Fellowship, recognizing scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications, is one of the most prestigious honors a U.S. scientist can receive. Fellows are elected by their academic peers.

“This year’s Fellows are an exceptional class of leaders in their respective disciplines and representative of Ohio State’s world-class faculty,” said Peter Mohler, vice president for research. “I am pleased that their scholarly pursuits and achievements are being recognized by a distinguished group of scientists, engineers and innovators as part of the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s newest inductees.”

The 2022 class includes 505 scientists, engineers and innovators spanning 24 scientific disciplines.

Ohio State’s newest Fellows are:

Antonio Conejo, professor of integrated systems engineering and electrical and computer engineering. For outstanding contributions to power system operations, planning and markets, and service as an educator and leader in power engineering and operations research.
Amy Fairchild, dean of the College of Public Health and professor of health services management and policy. For her eminent contributions to public health ethics and policy that are grounded in the history and philosophy of science.
Mohit Randeria, professor of physics. For contributions to the theory of BCS-BEC crossover, to the understanding of angle-resolved photoemission of cuprate superconductors, and for providing rigorous bounds on the superconducting transition temperature in two-dimensional materials.
Laura Wagner, professor of psychology. For contributions to language and conceptual development, and for broadening participation in publicly engaged science.
The new Fellows will be celebrated in Washington, D.C., this summer.