You are currently viewing Different types of Australian universities to study abroad

Different types of Australian universities to study abroad

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized

Among the top study destinations, for students to study abroad, Australia has cemented its position as one of the best countries to study abroad. Counted among the most popular destinations, Australia welcomes a number of international students from across the globe. Home to some of the most highly ranked universities abroad, its excellent teaching and learning methodologies, research output, academic standards and international outlook, have made Australia the preferred choice for students. 

The best universities in Australia for international students have a strong bond with history and culture. Through its rapid growth and development, Australia hosts different kinds of universities. Some were established in the early 90s, while some are fairly young. Age is just a number for these universities as they continue to be the best universities in Australia for international students.Here is an easy way for you to understand the different types of universities in Australia to study abroad.

1. The 1960s-1970s universities

– These universities in Australia for international students are those which were established by state governments between the period of mid-1960s to 1970s.

– The universities had their campuses in the mainland capitals in order to meet the hight demand of students for higher education.

– The main goal of these universities was to create and design a new educational pattern, which was different from that which traditional universities were offering. 

The universities formed during that era were: 

  • Macquarie University

  • La Trobe University

  • Flinders University

  • Griffith University

  • The University of Newcastle

  • James Cook University

  • Deakin University

  • Murdoch University

  • The University of Wollongong


2. Australian Technology Network (ATN)

– Formed in 1999, The Australian Technology Network (ATN) is a group of Australia’s five of the most innovative and enterprising universities that specialise in the technological area of study.

– These universities were initially technical institutes in capital cities across Australia but were awarded the status of ‘university’ in 1987.

– The universities which are part of this network were established with a strong focus on creating and providing impactful technology solutions, for the betterment of the economy and society at large.

Its member universities are: 

  • Deakin University

  • Curtin University

  • RMIT University

  • University of South Australia

  • The University of Technology Sydney


3. Group of Eight (Go8)

– The Group of Eight (Go8) is an organisation of eight top Australian universities which was established in 1999. These universities abroad are famous for providing high quality education and research facilities the world over. 

– These universities rank high in international rankings, offer the best-in-class research facilities and have strong bonds with industrial connections. Based are known for their high rankings, ample research opportunities and strong industry connections which is why it’s preferred by many international students. 

Its member universities are: 

  • University of Melbourne

  • Australian National University

  • University of Sydney

  • The University of Queensland

  • Monash University

  • The University of New South Wales Sydney

  • The University of Western Australia

  • The University of Adelaide


4. Regional Universities Network (RUN) Universities 

– Established in 2011, the Regional Universities Network (RUN) is a group of seven universities in Australia. These universities are known to make a significant contribution towards the growth of regional economies and communities.

– The main aim of these universities is to make higher quality education accessible and achievable to everyone and through its courses and offerings, create qualified professionals that can help boost regional development.

Its member universities are:

  • CQ University Australia

  • Charles Sturt University

  • Southern Cross University

  • University of New England

  • Federation University

  • University of Southern Queensland

  • University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)


5. New generation universities 

– These colleges and universities were established by the Australian government to provided advanced education to recently graduated higher secondary school students in order to introduce them to the new type of higher education institutions.

– These have strong research departments and are known for their courses and programs.

Its member universities were: 

  • Australian Catholic University

  • Bond University

  • Canberra University

  • Edith Cowan University

  • The University of Notre Dame 

  • Victoria University

  • Western Sydney University 

For further assistance or queries you can contact us, Edwise International, and avail for our wide range of services for students on destinations like Universities in UK, study in USA, study in Canada, study in Germany, study in New Zealand, Study in Ireland, study in Singapore and many other countries.